I made a YouTube video…No, it didn’t make me famous.

First of all, let me just clarify that the video (of which I’m blogging about) will never see the light of day. Ever. Except maybe a zombie apocalypse which we all know, no one will survive to watch it after.

Hellooo everyone!

This is my first post and so I thought I should do something special i.e tell the tale of my attempt at YouTube fame.

In case you didn’t know, YouTube is a video platform which people are able to post as well as watch different types of videos. But honestly if you didn’t know, then, well, how’s the weather under that rock you live in?

Initially me and my sister were going to do it together but I was bored that day so I decided to take the dive.

Now, YouTube has a way of making you feel like you can do absolutely anything and find an audience. Like you could literally post a video of a blank page with the tag line ‘mood rn’ and find someone to comment how much they relate.

Dot, dot, dot (insert awkward bird calls)

This is true because there are so many accomplished youtubers that make videos about everything from gaming to how to how to sit down properly(oh you thought you were doing it right? Ha! No, you’re not) and so I decided to try my luck on YouTube…gee, it’s even funny just thinking about it.

So, well, I set out to make a YouTube video with professional equipment that I didn’t have and a face full of makeup that I also didn’t have. To be clear, I was using my iPhone camera, light from the window and my sense of humor(which all but disappears in front of a camera) I went online to research ideas for my first video and decided to do a ‘get to know me’ challenge which must have been my first mistake because no one really cares about who you are on your first video. I mean, yes, you might manage to draw in a few subscribers with a vibrant personality and a colorful background (which btw I also didn’t have) but I guess the first video should make a statement besides being all about you. I also didn’t even know what I was going to be posting about. Honestly I had just had enough of feeling like I was sitting on my bum while teens like me were out there getting YouTube famous. Plus I had just watched the entire Harry Potter series for the first time, in a row, and I was feeling a bit depressed after I had finished. More on that another time.

So I made my video, tried to edit it with the best free video editor I could find (which I sucked at using) and then sat to watch it for any final touches, feeling like a total boss because I had just made my first YouTube video, which I thought was very clever.

iau

This is my actual reaction, as done perfectly by this guy. Thank you guy!

I tried to salvage it, I really did, I put in a bunch of different effects, slapped on some sarcastic captions and covered it in some random filter that I thought made my skin look good. But, the damage had been done, the video was, for lack of a better phrase, utter rubbish. And by the end of it my reaction had evolved into this one.

tumblr_oh3cl74zfb1tk27deo1_500

Acceptance, that my video sucked. Toads.

Anyways lets just say watching it made even my nervous sweat cringe and as a result I have decided YouTube is just not for me. Not yet anyway.

I will let you know what happens when I get bored next time and try again.

 

 

One thought on “I made a YouTube video…No, it didn’t make me famous.

Leave a comment